2017 CSTEM Competition

This past weekend, Energy Day was busy. In Houston, we attended the CSTEM competition at the Health Museum. Congratulations to the CSTEM winners: Tekoa Charter School, Beatrice Mayes Elementary School, Southwest Middle School, Energy Institute High School, and Westside High School. Photos will be uploaded soon.

In addition to the awards, there were lots of robots and other STEM everywhere. Many students were enjoying the museum when they weren’t competing. It was fun to watch them explore and engage in STEM activities on their own.

NREL’s 27th Annual Car Competition

On Saturday, Energy Day Colorado attended the 27th Annual NREL Junior Solar Sprint and Lithion-Ion Battery Car Competition. It was a beautiful day in Denver as we awarded the winning teams for their hard work in STEM. Congratulations to Stargate School for winning the Solar Sprint and to the Manning Option School for winning the Li-Ion Battery portion. Keep up the good work, STEMmers!

2017 Science Engineering Fair Houston

We attended our first awards ceremony of the 2017 EDAP season, and it was one for the books. Look at how many young ladies were awarded for their achievements in STEM at this year’s SEFH! We are so proud to be a part of so many competitions that allow students to showcase their amazing abilities in these areas. These winners will be recognized again onstage at Energy Day Festival in October.

Grand Prize Winners
(look at all of the young ladies!)

Temitope Oye

Temitope Oye won an award for the NCWIT Aspirations in Computing in 2016.

Temi has been interested in science, technology, and space since elementary school. She started looking further into her interest in computer science in 6th grade when she started learning HTML. Then she went beyond Computer Science into animation and attended a summer camp at MIT, which taught her about the 3D Animation software, Autodesk Maya.

In high school she enrolled in the computer science AP class in which she learned Java. Then in the summer of her sophomore year she took a summer program at University of Houston, which taught her how to program in C++. In the beginning of her junior year, she joined the computer science team, which competed with other schools in her district.

She was accepted into the NASA Aerospace Scholar program and is currently a member of the Texas High School Aerospace Scholars. In the summer of 2016, Temi teamed up with AspireIT and University of Houston to start a summer program to teach middle school girls how to build. Later she joined 19 others at a 7-week Girls Who Code summer immersion program at Google where she learned six new programming languages.

She is currently in her first year of college in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University as a computer science major.

We need more women like Temi in tech, so share her story and spread the word.

Energy Day Award Winner Has Patent Pending

Consumer Energy Alliance (CEA) and Consumer Energy Education Foundation (CEEF) partner with nine academic competitions throughout the school year each year as part of our Energy Day Academic Program (EDAP). One award recipient was high school senior Zury Cutler for his three-year-long science research program project was called “A Clear Path to a Brighter Future: Creation and Characterization of an Optically Transparent Hybrid Supercapacitor and Solar Concentrator.” He was awarded at the 2016 International Sustainable World Energy, Engineering, and Environment Project (I-SWEEEP) competition here in Houston. Cutler has a patent pending on his technology. CEA, CEEF, and Energy Day are thrilled to be able to support problem-solvers like Cutler. Read more.

2015 Ecobot Winners

We would like to congratulate the winning teams of the 2015 All-Earth Ecobot Challenge: Lady LABRATS, The Masterbuilders, VOTF, MEA – Voltage, Samurai Cowboys III, Error 404: name not found, MEA – Tesla, PROS, LABRATS Gents, and Chargerz.

Photos of some of the winners receiving their awards onstage at Energy Day 2015.

2015 C-STEM Winners

We would like to congratulate the winners of the 2015 C-STEM Challenge: Dariene Bolds, Gabriel Castillo, Cindy Nguyen, Carlos Calvo, and Yohana Orozco from Sharpstown International School; Kevin Lam, Jennifer Lo, and Mary Onwumere from Yes Prep Braes Oak Middle School; Renaya Smith and Symira Edwards from Yellowstone Academy Elementary School.

Photos of some of the winners receiving their awards onstage at Energy Day 2015.