Photo by Nicole Honeywill on Unsplash.

As we settle back into the school year, some of us may think of Labor Day as the unofficial, official end-of-summer. Labor Day, however, actually marks the celebration of the social and economic achievements of American workers. And, what better way to celebrate than by recognizing all of the teachers and educators across the U.S. who are passionate about STEM education – helping to fuel our future generations to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering and math.

Below is a shortlist of a few that stood out. Job well done – keep us the fantastic work!

  • Mathew Holley of Cook County High School recognized as the Georgia State Air Force Association STEM Teacher of the Year. Read more.
  • Andrew Ratke of Grand Haven Area, Public Schools in Michigan, selected to join the state’s Innovative Educator Corps. Read more. 
  • Eileen Dragon, Nicole Turk, Anne Markijohn, Brian Belconis, John Barbo and Wendy Booth of Geneva High School in Ohio received the Governor’s Thomas Edison Awards for Excellence in STEM Education and Student Research through the nonprofit Ohio Academy of Science. Read more.
  • Math teacher, Amanda McCloskey, of West Avenue School in Cumberland County, NJ awarded teacher of the year. Read more. 
  • STEM teacher, Helen Corveleyn, of Hopewell Elementary School in Mercer, NJ awarded teacher of the year. Read more. 
  • Math teacher, Sarah Guza, of Lincoln Park Middle School in Morris, NJ awarded teacher of the year. Read more. 
  • Math and science teacher, Kelly Cerbone, of Lake Riviera Middle School in Ocean, NJ awarded teacher of the year. Read more. 
  • Technology teacher, Patrick Slater, of Wayne Valley High School in Passaic, NJ awarded teacher of the year. Read more. 
  • Family consumer science teacher, Debra Koch, of Belvidere High School in Warren, NJ awarded teacher of the year. Read more. 
  • Myron Blosser of Harrisonburg High School in Harrisonburg, VA selected as a state finalist for the 2019 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. Read more.
  • Kathy Baka, Mary Curtis, Carrie Hanus,  Holly Herald, Michelle Kitko, Sheila Klepcyk, Elizabeth Krogman, Iryna Kulick, Stephanie Leffler, Michele Longano,Vera Marti, Ms. Kristian Martinson,Joanne McMurdo, Mrs. Denise Meeks, Evamarie Mickol, Kristen Miller, Anna Peko,  Moira Popelka, Diane Raguz, and Beth Uzzo of Saint Paschal Baylon in Highland Heights, Ohio received the Governor’s Thomas Edison Award for Excellence in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Education and Student Research. Read more. 

If you know of any outstanding STEM teachers that we should add to this list, please leave us a comment below or head over to our Facebook page and share it in a post with our community!